Back to the Swine 09 Story

Sorry it’s been so long since I’ve posted. Things have been very hectic! After helping out with sorority recruitment this year I caught the Swine Flu, better and more accurately known as H1N1. We went to the lake on Friday night and spent the evening eating an hanging out by the fire. Saturday morning we got up and I had a dry cough…which I figured was from the fire and smoke blowing in my face. Little did I know I’d be taken down several hours later. We spent the day out on the water tubing and enjoying the sun. We visited sand island and got out of the boat only to hear screams of a 5 ft black snake coming through the water. With everyone yelling and splashing that silly old snake was quick to retreat to the woods.

Hanging Out

Hanging Out

Sand Island (and the glasses)

Sand Island (and the glasses)

Before I get into my downfall I must also tell the story of trying to take the dogs tubing. Well they submarined and Joc and pups ended up in the water. Even though the pups have life jackets they freaked out turning my boyfriend into Swiss cheese. He looked terrible but luckily no blood was drawn. Being the good “big brother” that he is he kept hold of them to try and keep them calm. I cannot say I’d do the same, unless they weren’t wearing their jackets. O and you may have noticed the glasses in the above picture. Those would be some awesome 80’s Costas. They were everywhere with us and I’m sure will be making future appearances.

Awesome, I know

Awesome, I know

Angry Pups

Angry Pups

Saturday night at dinner my cough became worse, then I was FREEZING. I went to bed early (while everyone else enjoyed another fire). Sunday…woke up crying as my body was aching so bad. Joc asked what hurt to which I responded through tears “my arms, legs, back, fingers and toes…but my head the most”. Well he then felt my head and it was known flu had struck my body. I spent the day in bed with Powerade and Tylenol, hey we were lake side. Once back in Knoxville it became apparent this wasn’t just any flu, but H1N1. O well, at least I got it over with and no one else caught it! I’m good at keeping my germs to myself and my boyfriend has a super human immune system. We should probably both donate our bodies to science when we die…his for his super human abilities, mine because I don’t have any organs left and am allergic to life. So that’s how I caught and survived….SWINE 09.

2 thoughts on “Back to the Swine 09 Story

  1. You should always keep some Tamiflu on hand. This is good for the swine flu.That way you are prepared incase Joc gets the flu,because it might be a week on two till he will show symptoms.

Leave a Reply

