I liked them, but he didn’t!

Another weekend, another pancake experiment…we do love some pancakes!!!

This weekend, I looked around the kitchen for things to throw in the mix. If you know me, you know I like to use up what I have before buying new. No point in wasting food and I think the best recipes start this way. I mean think about it…the only reason we have french toast is because some guy needed to find a way to use his STALE BREAD!!! Banana bread is made using old nasty brown bananas. Wormed/bruised apples make the best apple butters and applesauces! Back to the pancakes… I started with my usual Hodgson’s Mill Whole Wheat mix, egg whites and vanilla rice milk.

Thanks to my fruit pizza from Saturday, I had some leftover berries. Thanks to my muffins from last week, I had some leftover coconut. So into the batter went chopped strawberries, blueberries and coconut. Added some cinnamon for good luck and I ended up with some delish chunky pancakes.

I loved, loved, loved them. They tasted like summer, they tasted like VACATION! Joc didn’t like the strawberries in them even though he liked the strawberry pancakes from last weekend which was ok because that meant MORE FOR ME! I’m always game for that 🙂

What should I try to tackle next week???

Leave a Reply

