Tuesday Tangents

So I realized that I didn’t really talk about my weekend at all in my weekend recap (thanks hubs). So as a quick recap, last weekend was a lake weekend. Mr. and Mrs. K came to town anticipating fun and tons of sun. We had a ton of fun, but just a little sun. We did some serious floating, lots of eating and drinking, and some game playing. Throw in homemade pizzas, boat rides and fires and I’ll call that one heck of a weekend. Now back to the typical tangents!

Once summer hits, I want the freshness. I want the crunch. We had salads for dinner last night and while at the grocery, I looked at my husband and said “I cannot eat another spring mix salad. It tastes like winter. I might die. I need crunch. Give me some romaine.” So, romaine it was. Topped with a grainger county tomato (what up tennessee tomatoes), crumbled bleu and pickled baby corn. Hubs topped his with feta, chicken and tomato. Dessert for me was literally a bowl of cherries.

Speaking of cherries, I have been dying for some delicious fruit. My FIL cut up a watermelon the other day and I got up 5 times that night to tinkle due to the massive amount that I ate. Now I’m craving blackberry cobbler. Think I might need to whip some up this week.

Easy Blackberry Cobbler via Southern Living

  • Yield: Makes 6 servings

Ingredients

  • 4 cups fresh blackberries
  • 1 tablespoon lemon juice
  • 1 large egg
  • 1 cup sugar
  • 1 cup all-purpose flour
  • 6 tablespoons butter, melted
  • Whipped cream (optional)
  • Garnish: fresh mint sprig

Preparation

Preheat oven to 375°. Place blackberries in a lightly greased 8-inch square baking dish; sprinkle with lemon juice. Stir together egg, sugar, and flour in a medium bowl until mixture resembles coarse meal. Sprinkle over fruit. Drizzle melted butter over topping. Bake at 375° for 35 minutes or until lightly browned and bubbly. Let stand 10 minutes. Serve warm with whipped cream, if desired. Garnish with fresh mint sprig, if desired.

For a neat presentation, bake for the same amount of time in 6 (8-oz.) ramekins on an aluminum foil-lined baking sheet.

Is it Friday??? No…can’t even trick myself since I named this Tuesday Tangents. Le sigh.

Leave a Reply

