Tuesday Tangents

Over the weekend we had guests to the lakehouse, grilled out, floated, worked out, saw Batman and worked on house things. Seeing a pattern here? Batman was GREAT! I was on the edge of my seat the entire time. I was like sweating, seriously sweating I was so anxious. I laughed, I cried. I highly recommend going to see it, like asap.

As far as a house update, they poured the tar for the waterproofing on the crawl space! Guess I should do a little explaining on the photo below. The small back rectangle is our outside fireplace. The larger back rectangle is our back porch. The giant square on the left is 2/3 of our garage. The other 1/3 is cut off in the photo. The rest is a little harder to describe at this point, but we’ll get there as the walls go up!

I’m in the mood to cook…well I’m always in the mood to cook, but I’m in the mood to branch out of my normal set list of recipes. Thinking I need to try this sometime this week:

photo via skinnytaste.com

Edamame Fried Rice
Skinnytaste.com

Serves 6. You can find what I would do in italics.

Ingredients:

  • 3 cups leftover cooked brown rice
  • 2 egg whites, scrambled (I would use 4)
  • 1 whole egg, scrambled 
  • 1 tbsp Smart Balance oil
  • 1/2 onion, chopped
  • 2 cloves garlic, diced
  • 5 scallions, chopped, whites and greens separated
  • 1/2 cup shredded carrots
  • cooking spray
  • 1 cup ready-to-eat shelled edamame
  • 2 tbsp low sodium soy sauce, tamari for gluten free (or more to taste)
  • salt and fresh pepper to taste

Directions:

  1. Whisk eggs and egg whites, season with salt and pepper. In a hot wok, spray a little oil and cook the eggs. When cooked, remove from pan and set aside.
  2. Let the wok get really hot. Add oil and cook onions, scallion whites, carrots and garlic for about 30-60 seconds, careful not to burn. Add brown rice and stir well a few minutes to heat through. Add cooked egg along with soy sauce, scallion greens and edamame, mixing well for about 3-4 minutes.

Yummmmmmm……

I have been and always will be obsessed with blouses and pencil skirts. I think there is just something classic, feminine and powerful about the combination. I’ve recently fallen in love with sheer blouses. Perfect for this time of year, it allows you to be a little breezy while wearing longer sleeves for your frigid office. Here are some that I love (at high, medium, and low price points).

Leave a Reply

