Pecan Tilapia

We’re skipping Tailgate Tuesday this week, because the dinner I made last night was too good not to share!

Last night I wanted to surprise hubs with dinner. I asked if he’s tired of chicken, which he said “no”. Well I was tired of making it (even though I don’t eat it) so I branched out and made some tilapia! Back in my meat eating days, tilapia was a staple around the house. I probably made at least one a week. I don’t think I’ve ever made fish for hubs, so last night I took a big chance! It was “make again good”! Win!

I paired this dish with roasted asparagus. If I was making this for guests, I would also serve with a light salad and rice. Yum!

photo via ourlifeinthekitchen

Pecan Tilapia

Serves: 4 | Time: 20 mins (no joke)

Ingredients:

  • 4  tablespoons salted butter
  • 1/4  cup pecans (cookie pieces)
  • 2  tablespoons chopped fresh parsley
  • 1  teaspoon fresh lemon juice, plus lemon wedges for serving
  • kosher salt and black pepper
  • cooking spray
  • 4  6-ounce tilapia fillets, halved lengthwise

Directions

  1. Cook the butter in a small saucepan over medium heat until foamy, 1 to 2 minutes. Stir in the pecans and cook, stirring, until the butter is golden brown, 2 to 3 minutes. Stir in the parsley, lemon juice, and ¼ teaspoon each salt and pepper. Keep warm.
  2. Heat the cooking spray in a large nonstick skillet over medium-high heat. Season the tilapia with ½ teaspoon salt and ¼ teaspoon pepper. In 2 batches, cook until opaque throughout, 2 to 3 minutes per side.
  3. Drizzle the tilapia with the sauce and serve with the lemon wedges.
2 thoughts on “Pecan Tilapia

Leave a Reply

