Detox

I detoxed this Tuesday through Friday due to the damage I caused to myself in New Orleans last weekend. My detox really does include eating and a lot of it, no juice fast bullshiz for this girl. I need to CHEW! So I thought I would share what a typical day of my detox looks like.

I’m not a doctor, dietitian or nutritionist. I’m just a runner who knows what works for me. This ISN’T for weight loss, just for knocking my levels back into place. The ying (ahh) to the yang (ugh). Not to be confused with the ying-yang twins…ya ya ya ya ya…uh.

Breakfast:

  • Green Smoothie (Why throw out nature’s fiber? Drink the pulp)
    • 1/2 med banana
    • 1 C raw baby spinach
    • 1/2 C raw broccoli
    • 4 oz unsweetened coconut almond milk (Blue Diamond)
    • BLEND BLEND BLEND, drink immediately
  • 30 mins later: Egg White Omelette
    • 1/2 C egg whites
    • 1 C raw baby spinach
    • 1 Tbsp hot sauce

Mid-Morning Snack:

  • 1/4 C raw or roasted mixed nuts

Lunch:

  • 1 C brown & wild rice
  • 1 C steamed eggplant
  • 1 glass of emergen-C

Mid-Afternoon Snack:

  • Raw peppers (marinate these overnight in a snack baggie)
    • 1/2 bell pepper (orange is my favorite)
    • 2 Tbsp balsamic vinegar

Dinner:

  • 1 C brown & wild rice (couple dashes of soy sauce and sriracha)
  • 1 C steamed broccoli
  • 5 spears steamed asparagus
  • 1/2 C fat free refried beans (random but tastes so good without the lard & has protein)

Peppermint green tea before bed.

There you have it! There are probably a lot of people that eat like this on the reg…but this is MY detox, and I can only realistically do this for 3-4 days before I would kill a baby panda for some pizza or ice cream. Keeping it real.

Leave a Reply

