Food and more!

I have a lot of family in town right now and all week. Saturday night I had 8 people total in the casa! It has been pure fun family nonstop madness!!!

Friday night hubs and I went to the opening of Iron Man 3. Super good, and I highly recommend. A more serious tone than previous ones, but still good.

Saturday morning was spent giving the house a top to bottom scrub down in anticipation of our house guests arriving. Saturday night I made homemade pizzas for everyone. We had turkey pepperoni, margherita, buffalo chicken, BBQ chicken, and a few 3 cheese pizzas for everyone. I made a vegetable plate and a pesto dip for everyone. Easiest dip ever, and sooooo good.

Pesto Veggie Dip

Ingredients:

  • 1 C reduced fat whipped cream cheese
  • 1 C reduced fat sour cream
  • 4 Tbsp pesto (I used classico brand)

Mix all ingredients together and enjoy!

My island pretty much looked like this…

Sunday, I made pancakes as usual. Hubs and I have pancake Sundays. I made fluffy plain pancakes and banana & pb vegan pancakes. I didn’t mean for them to be vegan, but looking at my recipe…they are! I bet you can guess which are my favorite!

Banana and Peanut Butter Pancakes

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup all-purpose flour
  • 1 1/4 teaspoons baking powder
  • 1 teaspoon brown sugar
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 1/4 cup creamy peanut butter
  • 1 1/2 cups Almond Breeze coconut almond milk (or more)
  • 1/4 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 1 small banana, peeled and chopped

Directions:

  1. Mash pb, banana, vanilla and salt to make a paste
  2. Add all other ingredients and cook like normal pancakes

Sunday evening we celebrated cinco de mayo with skinny margs and a healthy spread. The inlaws joined us for dinner and my MIL made a wonderful southwest salad with homemade avocado lime dressing and a pistachio marble cake (a favorite of mine that she makes!). I had queso, guac and salsa. Hard and soft shells. Chicken, black and/or pinto beans. Cheese, lettuce, tomatoes, and sour cream for toppings. It was a hit!

So, so, so many leftovers…who’s coming over?

Leave a Reply

